The Scientists’ powerful brand of deranged swamp-rock returns with a vengeance, with In the Red Records unleashing Negativity, an all-new magnum opus featuring the first new full length album by the iconic Australian band’s penultimate line-up in 35 years.
The bruising 11-track collection features a Scientists configuration much beloved by connoisseurs of the band’s work: singer-guitarist Kim Salmon, lead guitarist Tony Thewlis, and bassist Boris Sujdovic, all veterans of the group’s defining 1981-85 outfit, and drummer Leanne Cowie, who replaced drummer Brett Rixon on the storming 1986 release Weird Love.
Happily, rousing receptions during the band’s American treks and a sense that fans would welcome a new full-length project resulted in sessions for Negativitythe Scientists’ first full-length collection of new material since their 1987 last bow Human Jukebox.