Beloved UK post-punks IDLES have announced their third album ‘Ultra Mono’!

Following on from 2018’s acclaimed ‘Joy As An Act Of Resistance’, the 12-track record will arrive on September 25 via Partisan. It was previewed last month with ‘Mr. Motivator’.

Lead single ‘Grounds’ was previewed during IDLES’ tour late last year. Frontman Joe Talbot has described it as “a song that embodied self-belief, and gave us self-belief – a counter-punch to all the doubt we build up from all the noise we so easily let in”.

“We wanted to make the sound of our own hearts’ marching band, armed with a jackhammer and a smile. We wanted to make the sound of our engine starting. So we did. Thank you.”

Recorded in Paris, ‘Ultra Mono’ was produced by Nick Launay (Nick Cave, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Arcade Fire) and Adam ‘Atom’ Greenspan (Anna Calvi, Cut Copy). Additional programming was provided by Kenny Beats, with IDLES setting out to capture the feeling of a hip hop record.

Savages‘ frontwoman Jehnny Beth will feature as a guest on the track ‘Ne Touche Pas Moi’, while Warren Ellis, David Yow and Jamie Cullum also contributed to the project.

The ‘Ultra Mono’ tracklist is as follows:

1. War
2. Grounds
3. Mr. Motivator
4. Anxiety
5. Kill Them With Kindness
6. Model Village
7. Ne Touche Pas Moi (feat. Jehnny Beth)
8. Carcinogenic
9. Reigns
10. The Lover
11. A Hymn
12. Danke